Edward Capel - Alto & Soprano Saxophone, Alto Clarinet
Bert Palinckx - Double Bass
Jacq Palinckx - Guitar
Bart van Dongen - Piano & Synthesizer
Hans Sparla - Trombone
Jeroen Doomernik - Trumpet & Flugelhorn
Pascal Vermeer - Drums (Ludwig Drums & Istanbul Agop Cymbals)

Recording: Eric Van De Lest & Ankie Keultjens at Café Wilhelmina in Eindhoven & Paradox (tracks 8 & 10) in Tilburg, The Netherlands on June 2012.
Editing, Mixing & Mastering: Eric Van De Lest & Edward Capel
Artwork & Lay-Out: Rik Van Iersel


Available only digitally


VLEK are experienced musicians from the Dutch province of Brabant. They relish playing live, musical expeditions into the unknown, and improvisations. VLEK can sound like a big band, a free jazz ensemble, or a rock group. VLEK produces a mesmerizing mix of thundering grooves, psychedelics, blues, and noisy improvisations. Joie de vivre and musical adventurousness are paramount to the seven members of VLEK! Travel along to mysterious worlds with breathtaking vistas. Scale the abyss with VLEK! Or skulk through claustrophobic caves … Whatever happens, expect the unexpected.

This album has a surprisingly recognizable content, interspersed with the typical touch of all the band members and an ultimate research of that phenomenon called free improvisation.







1. Homeless
E. Capel - 04:26

2. Heerenleed in Simpelveld
B. van DongenB. Palinckx - 03:55

3. Nocturne No. 2
L. Van Krieken / P. Vermeer - 05:33

4. Blaar
J. Palinckx - 04:34

5. Opus 50
B. Palinckx - 07:29

6. Eye Nose You
B. Palinckx - 02:13

7. Vlek in je Broek
B. van Dongen - 04:28

8. Boom
B. van Dongen - 06:45

9. Tijd voor een Appelflap
E. Capel / J. Vanderlest - 03:07

10. Vrolijk de Duisternis in
J. Palinckx - 03:53

total time - 61:28
eNRd001 2018